My best friend is having her first child. It’s a little astonishing that this girl, whom I have known for more than half of my life is going to be a mother to a little girl of her own.

Elli and I met in the sixth grade. She was taller than me, with prettier hair, and nicer clothes; I had neither. She also had a great sense of humour and more importantly, was a fan of Francine Pascal’s “Sweet Valley High” books. Our friendship continued into 7th grade when we ditched Sweet Valley High and said hello to historical romances by best-selling author Joanna Lindsey.

Over the years we made joint forays into make-up, obsessions over Johnny Depp (21 Jumpstreet you understand), and fashion. When I bought a purple sued mini-skirt, she was a staunch supporter. (Now, I cringe at the thought, but hey, it was the 80s!) She even shared her new Clinique eye shadow and lipstick, never mind that she was fair-skinned and I had the coloring of a coconut.

She used to laugh at how I ate a Kudos bars and diet Cokes for lunch. Since then, we’ve traded in the chocolate bars and diet Coke for low fat/no fat snacks and carrot juice. We have watched each other grow up, get married, set up homes and now, have children. Elli sends me gifts for my own little boy who was born last year. In between preparing for motherhood, doing her job and cooking for her husband, she still finds time to talk about my hopes, dreams, and gripes about family.

We’ve been friends for 20 years, and I am still a bit surprised at how long it’s been. I remember us as young girls, and now my girlfriend will be having her own little girl. I hope she finds a friend like her mother.

