Tags

, ,

Over the last year, I made several forays into the world of craft.  No, not World of Warcraft.  Just craft.  I’m not crafty or handy.  I yearn to be, though.

I bought a sewing machine, learned to thread the needle, made curtains for my son’s room which turned out pretty good.  I tried to make a shopping cart seat cover for my baby girl which did not turn out so well.

My latest project is a felt crown for my son’s 6th birthday.  I have not made a felt crown before, but I’ve seen some charming ones on other craft websites. 

My son is really into sea creatures right now, so I bought some felt from this cute little Etsy shop: http://www.feltonthefly.etsy.com.   The proprietress is a doll.  She gave me advice on what thread to use and needle size. 

She even sent me three felt cutouts of seahorses which was such a sweet surprise. I felt like an explorer who had just been bestowed with the Nina, the Pinta and the Santa Maria.  

With such gifts, the inspiration to proceed with the project struck me anew.  Christopher Columbus supposedly said “By prevailing over all obstacles and distractions, one may unfailingly arrive at his [or her] chosen goal or destination.”  Distractions and obstacles, prepare to be conquered!

On the other hand, didn’t Explorer Columbus also say “For the execution of the voyage to the Indies, I did not make use of intelligence, mathematics or maps.” Okay.  Here’s hoping to blind luck then.  That probably sounds more like me, anyway. 

I bought the “Shells on the Shore” felt color story which has some lovely shades of blue, light blue, coral and acorn.  The felt is easy to work with and feels so smooth.  

I cut out my own starfish, octopus and anglerfish.  You’re probably not used to seeing an anglerfish without the long filament (also called illicium) that dangles above the head.  This anglerfish is a male and males don’t have the illicium.  I opted not to use a sewing machine on the cutouts.  I’m hand stitching instead.  


I plan to use the sea horses on the top three points of the crown.  


I still have a lot to do.  I need to attach the orange felt as a backing and add the elastic.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to get much further along today.  
Here are the materials I used:
