Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Book:  A Guide to Quality, Taste & Style by Tim Gunn.  Published in 2007 by Abrams Image.

I enjoy reading books on fashion and style, especially when the author doesn’t come off as condescending or snooty.  I have admired Tim Gunn ever since I got hooked on Project Runway.  He is so articulate that I could just listen to him for hours.  There is something pleasing about hearing someone speak well. Most of all, I appreciate how he encourages the designers on the show to reach their full potential.

I could hear Tim’s voice in my head telling me to clean out my closet and get rid of things that I don’t or won’t wear anymore.

One of my favorite chapters is Fashion Mentor: Beyond Audrey.  Do your fashion mentors run toward “the Sirens” (think Angelina Jolie, Nigella Lawson or Julie Christie)?

Angelina Jolie

Perhaps your style is more les gamines (e.g. classic, feminine and young like Sofia Coppola or Natalie Portman).

To be blunt, the doyenne is about power. . . If you aspire to this look, keep your friends close and your enemies closer! This is the hyper-polished, utterly correct, dress-to-the-nines look that must be executed from sun-up till bedtime.

The book also includes a very practical chapter on dressing for those special occasions like black tie events, office parties, and travel.  Well, friends, that brings us to the end of another book.

Read on warriors, read on.

Rating: 4/5

