Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Let us step into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.

(Quote from J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince)

English: Coat of arms of Hogwarts school of wi...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s late, and I should be asleep. I could barely keep my eyes open at my desk today.  Come to think of it, that phenomenon is not limited to times of lack of sleep.

My day begins pretty early.  With two young children, it is a rare and beautiful thing to sleep in for a few hours.  That’s why I try to get to bed at a decent hour.  The older I get, the more I need my sleep.  The other day, someone (actually several someones) commented on how tired I look.  Gee, I guess that concealer I bought isn’t doing its job.

Okay, so why am I still up?

Here are the top 5 reasons why someone like me might be burning the midnight oil.

5.   One of my children has one or more of the following: a nosebleed, is throwing up, too hot, too cold, hungry, is missing a stuffed animal, can’t find the bathroom, went to the bathroom and now is wandering aimlessly around the living room.

4.   The office-gods have decreed that I must finish an assignment by an unreasonably short time even though we are all understaffed and underfunded, but it is absolutely essential that I finish my assignment or the world will come to a terrifying and disastrous end.

3.   I’m hungry and want a snack.

2.  I’m watching reruns of Frasier on Netflix.

And the number one reason for delaying sleep is . . .

1.  I can’t put the book down. 

Damn you, master storytellers. You have made me put off hours of sleep. You know who you are (just a few off the top of my head) — Stephen King, J.K Rowling, Suzanne Collins, Sidney Sheldon, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Anne Rice, Diana Gabaldon, David Eddings, Jane Austen, C.S. Lewis and Leon Uris.

