Tags

, , , ,

“I like to fly my kite in Antarctica.”

This was the sentence my 6 yr old wrote in response to his Kindergarten writing prompt.  “I like to fly my kite in _____.”  He put in the word Antarctica.  How cute– this mini-me version of a creative nudge.

Out of curiosity, I searched for grown-up writing prompts, and what I found wasn’t that much different.

Use the set of three elements and write a story that contains all three of them!
1)      A stolen ring, fear of spiders and a sinister stranger.
2)      An ex-boyfriend, a pair of binoculars, and a good luck charm.
3)      An annoying boss, a bikini and a fake illness.
 
Sentences or phrases to continue:
If I could become invisible…
When I grow up…
If I could live anywhere in the world it would be.

I was going to blog about a book today, but I’m chained to Atlas Shrugged for a bit. I thought I would try my hand at some creative writing inspired by my son’s prompt.

(From the perspective of a a 6 or 7 year old.)

A line of Emperor penguin (Aptenodytes forster...

A line of Emperor penguin (Aptenodytes forsteri) in Antarctica. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I like to fly my kite in Antarctica because it’s really windy outside.   The days are long in the summer, and the best reason is that Tommy Casey won’t be there showing off how well he flies his kite.  His mom buys him a new one every year.  At first, I thought it was because he was a good boy and I was feeling bad about that because mom won’t get me a new kite every year and I thought I was bad.  But now I think Tommy gets a new kite because his mom lives in a different house.  When I was getting a glass of water the other night, mom and dad didn’t see me.   I heard mom say that Mrs. Casey bought Tommy a whole lot of things because she lives in a different kind of house, like an apartment building.   I know this isn’t true because Tommy lives with his mom in a big mansion in Kelly Heights, not in a place called “Guilt Complex.”

Antarctica will be so awesome because I’ll get to see the Emperor Penguins which are as tall as I am.  There will be lots of them so they can watch me fly my kite and they won’t say mean things about being able to do it better than me.  I won’t have to eat my veggies because nothing green grows there, and I can eat sushi just like them. I don’t care about wasabi or ginger.

The only thing is that my sister will want to come with me. She’s really small and can’t walk very fast.  But Mom and Dad told me that because I am her big brother, I’m supposed to watch over her.  She likes playing forts with me and Legos.  She can be okay, even though she can be a pill sometimes.   She’ll feel bad if I leave her.  If she comes with me, she might want to play with my kite and I think she’s too little. Maybe one of the penguins can watch over her while I play.

