Tags

, , , , ,

My day started with a trip to one of the local farmers’ market.  It was more crowded than I had seen it in a long time.  Spring was here.  People were milling around, and I had to dodge through pockets of people in order to find my way.  My trips to the market are usually more leisurely.  I like to peruse the various stalls and ogle the produce.  Today, I felt hurried.  I must have picked it up from the crowd around me.  It was Mother’s Day and people wanted to pick up their supplies and go home to be with their families.

The flower vendors were surrounded on all sides.  There was no semblance of a line.  I joined the wall of people and hoped that I could catch a seller’s eye so that I could purchase a few bunches

After I picked up my flowers, I walked a fast circuit around the market to buy some produce.

I spied bunches of beautiful artichokes. Look at how the petals are tinged with that deep purple.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could not resist these alluring heads of organic lettuce.  They looked so lush and healthy. I could taste the crispness already.  Yes, salad was on the menu this week.  When I first heard the story of Rapunzel, I imagined that the plant was something like lettuce.  These look worthy of the tale.

Bunches of asparagus!

I’m a sucker for a good deal.  See? $2.50 for a bunch.  These slender stalks of asparagus would be tasty on the grill.  Drizzle them with olive oil, salt and pepper and it would be a delicious meal.

You can’t tell from this picture, but the eggs have a light blue tinge to them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had one last stop.  I had to visit my favorite organic, free range egg vendor.  When I got the eggs home, I had some problems storing them all.  Here they are in an old gravy boat that I found at an antique shop.

Wishing all you moms out there a great Mother’s Day.

My flowers at home.

