Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you are in my part of the country right now, you might be watching (not with your naked eye, I hope) the solar eclipse.  It’s about 90 degrees outside right now, but the sun has been dimmed by the moon.  It’s pretty cool.

Here is a snapshot taken with our iPad.  It gave off an interesting effect.  On the lower left side, you’ll see the crescent projection of the eclipse.

I’ll sign off now with some pics from one of my favorite 80s movies, Ladyhawke.  Captain Etienne of Navarre (Rutger Hauer) and Isabeau (Michelle Pfeiffer) fall in love, but are separated by an evil curse placed on them by a jealous bishop. Since the bishop could not have Isabeau’s love, he made a pact with the devil. By day Isabeau was a hawk and by night Navarre was a wolf– always together, eternally apart.

A chance to break the curse comes when there is a a solar eclipse (“There shall be a night without a day and a day without a night”).   The couple see each other in human form in front of the bishop and the curse is broken.  I was so young when I first saw this, but I was all dreamy-eyed for Rutger Hauer. I love happy endings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RELATED ARTICLES

