Tags

, , , , ,

Extinguish Thou My Eyes

Extinguish Thou my eyes:I still can see Thee,
deprive my ears of sound:I still can hear Thee,
and without feet I still can come to Thee,
and without voice I still can call to Thee.

Sever my arms from me, I still will hold Thee
with all my heart as with a single hand,
arrest my heart, my brain will keep on beating,
and Should Thy fire at last my brain consume,
the flowing of my blood will carry Thee.

A Single Night/ Love-Song

How shall I hold my soul, that it may not
Be touching yours? How shall I lift it then
Above you to where other things are waiting?
Ah, gladly would I lodge it, all-forgot,
With some lost thing in the dark is isolating
On some remote and silent spot that, when
Your depths vibrate, is not itself vibrating.
 
You and me—all that lights upon us, though
Brings us together like a fiddle-bow
Drawing one voice from two strings it glides along.
Across what instruments have we been spanned?
And what violinist holds us in his hand?
O sweetest song?
 

Violin 1/8th size

Letters To A Young Poet (an excerpt)

How should we be able to forget those ancient myths that are at the beginning of all peoples, the myths about dragons that at the last moment turn into princesses;  perhaps all the dragons of our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us once beautiful and brave.  Perhaps everything terrible is in its deepest being something helpless that wants help from us.

So you must not be frightened, if a sadness rises up before you larger than any you have ever seen; if a restiveness, like light and cloud-shadows, passes over you hands and over all you do.  You must think that something is happening with you, that life has not forgotten you, that it holds you in its hand, it will not let you fall.

Frog Tsarevna by Viktor Vasnetsov, 1848-1926 (Photo courtesy of Wikimedia)

Related articles

