Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dear Readers,

I’ve been absent from my usual postings, but I have an excuse.  I am suddenly awash with zombies.

English: Wordmark of the Zombies!!! board game...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, you heard me right.  ZOMBIES.  

No doubt this has something to do with Mr. LT’s upcoming birthday celebration.  He is an avid zombie lover, and the crazy critters have come out of the woodwork to celebrate.  I’m torn.  I just wrote my post about manners and all, so do I ask them in for tea or tell them to get lost and take their freeloading selves elsewhere.  Besides, I refuse to serve brains.

I tried to recall everything from Max BrooksWorld War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War.  I’m not particularly keen on zombies, but it wasn’t a bad read.  It’s written as an epistolary.  The down side is that as soon as I got to know and liked a character, that particular story would finish and we’re off to learning about someone new.

I’ve heard that the Zombie Apocalypse is coming, and I will be in pretty dire straits if I’m not prepared.  If you’re a good boy scout or girl scout, you’ll know that knowing is half the battle.  Or is that G.I. Joe’s tagline?  I know that someone out there said to “Be Prepared” so in that vein, I will have to brush up on The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Walking Dead.  This is also by Max Brooks. In case you didn’t know, the movie (starring Brad Pitt) is due out in 2013.

The Zombie Survival Guide advises on the right weapons to use (machete over flame thrower, zombies are not afraid of fire) and best places to take shelter.  Mr. LT is having a birthday party so if any of those zombies get cheeky, I’ll be sure to have the appropriate gear with me.

Until then, I’m working on some centerpieces that will make everyone feel at home and also serve as a warning at the same time.  Here’s what I have so far:

The materials are not at all sophisticated and pretty bare or industrial:  tin foil, canning jars and dead sticks and flameless candles

Can you read the warning? Good because now my human guests can’t whine about not being warned. I think my insurance company will approve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s what I’ve been up to.  I’ll be on the run for the next week or so which is probably a good thing. I could use the exercise.  I might have time to jot down a note or two, but if I turn into a zombie, you’ll know what to do, right?

Happy Reading.

P.S.  Thanks to the most recent post from mywithershins who interviewed Matt (another blogger of Wantoncreation) for the ideas.  In the interview, Matt shared that he sometimes he writes his blog posts on the fly.  I gave it a shot and this is the product.  It was kinda fun. 

