Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Come on in.

I was on vacation last week in Solvang, California.  While walking the quaint streets, I came across a used bookstore. I love peering into old bookshops. Perhaps it’s the smell that assails me with the hope of adventure. One might find an old friend, a new friend, new adventures, handsome heroes or a dragon or two.

I would gladly step into a bookstore that offers coffee with your reading pleasure.

I love walking into a bookstore. It’s like all my friends are sitting on shelves, waving their pages at me.

~~ Tahereh Mafi

Two chairs by the window. It was very warm and inviting.

I just love the smell of an old book store and the feel of the crisp pages along my fingertips.”
― Leah Spiegel, Foolish Games

Neatly stacked books on tidy shelves. This was probably the most orderly used bookstore I have been in.

Right when you think you’ve reached the end of the store, you turn a corner and there’s a small hallway into a larger room.

I could spend a happy afternoon here

My favourite place in the whole city was the Sempere & Sons bookshop on Calle Santa Anna. It smelled of old paper and dust and it was my sanctuary, my refuge.

~~ Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Angel’s Game.

Do you like to visit bookstores on vacation?

