Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Jester reading a book

This feels like me.  Can’t get into any serious reading.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I haven’t been able to get through my reading block.  In the last month, I started reading several books, only to put them down.  These are all books I have wanted to read, but they lacked that certain je ne sais quoi.

1.  The Children of Forever Are Not Afraid by Shani Boianjiu – I think I made it to page 10 before I acknowledged that the narration wasn’t doing anything for me. It felt confusing and superficial.

2.  Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres – I really wanted to read this book because of all the great reviews.  It actually starts off quite well, but again my bored mind couldn’t get on with it.  I’ve put it down for now with all the best intentions to return later.

3.  I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith – the movie with Rose Byrne and Bill Nighy is what first made me want to read this.  I got to page 20, and now the book sits by Captain Corelli’s Mandolin.

4.  The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – I love, love, loved the first book I read by Mr. Zafon– The Shadow of the Wind.  I had high hopes for something equally fantastic.  I mean, Shadow of the Wind captured me almost immediately.  Remember in the movie Jerry Maguire when Renee Zellweger’s character said “You had me at hello” or something like that?  Shadow practically had me at ‘hello.’   The Prisoner of Heaven didn’t have me hello.  In fact we’re at the “How you doin’?” stage and I’m still not enthralled.   I don’t want to blame the book or anything.  There’s something wrong with me, I’m sure.

5.  Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – I will have to finish this book because it’s the book club pick.  The guy at Barnes and Nobles raved about it. He said “Whoever picked this book in your book club is awesome!”  I should have said “Yeah, it was me. I’m awesome.”  But I didn’t.  I could have kicked myself. I’m one of those people who think of all the witty things to say to someone after the conversation is over.  That’s the cool thing about writing.  When I think of something better to say later, I can go back and revise.

6.  Emma by Jane Austen –  I got to page 5.

7.  The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey – This is the perfect book for winter.  It starts out white and silent.  I put it down because I felt like my mood wasn’t quite into it, and the book deserved a better reader than I was at that moment.

Seven books started and none finished.  One of my friends wants me to start reading Anna Karenina with her.  I think I know how that’s going to end.

Catalogs

In contrast, I’ve finished reading plenty of catalogs.  I particularly like the Pottery Barn ones, but those funny no-name catalogs (that are addressed to Mrs. LT or Current Resident) can be amusing, too.  You know the ones I’m talking about.  They hawk odd wares like a pillow case that looks like a slab of bacon. Who buys this stuff?   Someone in my household fell to the catalog’s seductive lures.  My husband bought a branding iron for searing your initials into your own steak.  Why this was necessary is beyond me.  Mr. LT assured me that it was not for him; it was a gift for someone else.  I think that makes it okay, but I’m not sure.

What have you been reading lately?  Catalogs?  Actual books?  Or maybe you will tell me that you bought the coolest thing from one of those funny catalogs.  Either way, I’d love to hear from you.

