Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year 2013 (1/52)

Let me start by saying how sorry I am that my wishes for a Happy New Year are late.   I’ve been caught up in all the Holiday festivities and when that was all finished, I got lost amongst the boxes of ornaments and Christmas lights as I tried to put everything away.

I ended the year of 2012 with reader’s block, and it looks like the year of 2013 came with writer’s block.  That’s one of the reasons why I haven’t posted anything lately.

I think my literary mojo is slowly coming back because I’ve finished two books, which are on opposite ends of my literary spectrum– science fiction and historical romance.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender's GameAll in all, I liked this book very much (keep on reading if you want to hear about the one criticism I have).  Sci-fi rarely makes an appearance in my book diet.  I can’t stand stuff that is too “science fictioney,” but Ender’s Game wasn’t bad at all.

Ender Wiggin, a six-year-old genius, is chosen to go to Battle School for one lofty purpose– to save the human race from the Buggers, an insect-like race that nearly annihilated the Earth and its inhabitants.  Since we all know that the best defense is a good offense, Earth is mounting an extensive campaign to go to Bugger World and destroy them once and for all.

But wait, there’s more.  The fate of the world lies in the hands of warrior-children, and the one to lead them all, which may (or may not) be Ender.  (I don’t want to give any spoilers away after all.)

The plot may sound weird, but the author pulls it off.   I thought the book’s strength was in the character development of the hero:  Ender.  Ender fears becoming a murderer, yet he must use his warrior/commander talents to kill for self-preservation.  The question is whether he can do it and if he chooses to do so, will he lose his own humanity.  It’s all very deep stuff for a kid.

There is one part of the story where I got a teensy bit disappointed. I was expecting a bang, but got the slow death of a leaky balloon.

The book reminded me of the 1997 film Starship Troopers which starred Casper Van Dien (he’s real easy on the eyes).  The film was based on the 1959 novel which I hae never read called Starship Soldier by Robert A. HeinleinEnder’s Game also reminded me of Robotech: the Sentinels by Jack McKinney when the Robotech Defense Force sends its own people to find the Invid’s homeworld.

If you like sci-fi or are thinking of dabbling, I’d read Ender’s Game.  It’s pretty good.

The Duke and I by Julia Quinn.

Not bad.  Not great.  Some witty repartee.  But not a lot.  More about that in my next post.

Have you read Ender’s Game and the subsequent novels by Orson Scott Card?  Or maybe you love the sci-fi genre and want to tell me how much I’m missing.  Go on, I’d love to hear from you… that is unless you are going to chew me out for not reading enough sci-fi.

